How to Shop Vegan at Tesco

Posted by 1 year ago | Permalink | Comments (18)

These days, it’s so easy to shop vegan in UK supermarkets, as vlogger Laura Lejeune and her partner Lewis demonstrate with this fun video of her trip to Tesco.

Laura wanted to answer the question “What the hell do vegans eat in the first place?” As she shows in the video, many animal-friendly products are on supermarket shelves, ready for you to try.

Please always be sure to double-check the ingredients before purchasing anything suggested, as manufacturers might change their ingredients at any time.

Are you thinking about going vegan? Check out Laura’s channel on YouTube, and order PETA’s free vegan starter kit for tips, advice and recipes.

Comments

  • Morgan Gordon commented on June 15, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    I am horrified to see “Pringles” on the photo above. The company who makes this product is Procter and Gambol, who do testing on animals for everything they they sell.

    • Lee McAlpine commented on June 16, 2015 at 3:00 pm

      Proctor & Gamble don’t own Pringles; the company is now owned by Kellog’s and has been since 2012 but I am saddened to see Maggi, Shreddies & Cheerios on there owned by that lovely (sarcasm) company called Nestle & Knorr which is owned by an even nicer company Unilever.

      But unfortunately it depends on why they are vegan. If it’s for a healthier lifestyle rather than animal welfare/animal testing then they won’t be bothered by that sort of thing. I know someone who is vegetarian for health reasons for example & couldn’t care less about gelatine being used in various products.

    • Antivivisection commented on July 10, 2015 at 7:56 pm

      Marmite is owned by Unilever aswell. And Oreo’s contain palm oil. I’m yet to discover whether it’s sustainable palm oil or not.

      • Anti-vivisection commented on January 10, 2016 at 12:22 pm

        It is sustainable 🙂 We can eat them without guilt

  • Marilyn Bassett commented on June 16, 2015 at 7:19 am

    Do you have to take vitamins if you’re Vegan

    • Anne commented on June 16, 2015 at 11:22 am

      Hi Marilyn,
      It is possible to get all the nutrients you need from a well-planned vegan diet. However, some vegans find it more convenient to take a multi-vitamin or supplement for a few key nutrients such as vitamin b12. Check out the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine website for more info about vegan nutrition: http://pcrm.org/

  • Paul commented on June 30, 2015 at 3:20 pm

    Pot Noodles can not be guaranteed vegan as they are produced in factories which handle dairy and egg.(according to Pot Noodle website)

    They are however suitable for vegetarians.

  • Susan Vietro commented on July 8, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    Brilliant video… I’ll just show that to next person that asks me what we eat. Well done and thank you

  • Clive Weatherstone commented on July 8, 2015 at 5:39 pm

    Re Laura’s excellent trip to Tesco video it’s best to look for organic vegan grown veg and fruit (avoiding manure, bone meal, dried blood etc).

  • Rebecca commented on November 14, 2015 at 10:03 am

    Pot Noodles are not vegan, neither is Marmite. Both are made by Unilever and if you support animal testing you are most certainly not vegan.

    • Paul commented on November 28, 2015 at 1:45 am

      Bombay Badboy and Beef and Tomato (ironically) are vegan.

      If you are against unethical companies then you should only ever buy vegan items from vegan companies,

      Linda McCartney use dairy in some of their products.
      Lush use honey and dairy in some of their products.
      All supermarkets have a meat aisle.

      Both of the above companies therefore exploit animals – but I bet you won’t use your arguments to shout “non-vegan” at anyone who uses any of the above … even though most of the torture and suffering occurs in the meat and dairy industry.

  • Paul commented on November 28, 2015 at 1:42 am

    Honey Monster Puffs contain 3.6% honey (according to their own website).

    I’m not a fan of single-issue campaigns, so don’t sweat the palm oil/parent company issues, but there are enough non-vegan inaccuracies to make it worthy of re-editing.

  • Aurora Harrison commented on November 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    Alot of the items in the video are not vegan due to gelatine and Vitinim D, why is Peta choosing to share incorrect information?

  • Karen commented on November 30, 2015 at 9:36 am

    I like your video. I find it quite frustrating to find a lot of the products you mention as vegan have glucose syrup in. I avoid this and aspartame and as many other chemical additives as possible. Like you I get a bit frustrated when they put milk in pesto and naan bread for examples I love the Asian section as so much is vegan but they make naan bread with milk when they could use a non dairy milk.

  • Julie Wood commented on November 30, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    I think your video is fantastic. I wish I’d seen it a year ago when I became a fully fledge vegan after 30 years of vegetarianism. Please keep it up! There are some real numbskulls out there who need educating. xx

  • Ada commented on February 7, 2016 at 11:36 pm

    pizza based you said it’s vegan is not vegan.

  • Chris commented on July 14, 2016 at 10:38 am

    They were mistaken about quorn, some quorn products do contain egg some do not.

    • FAbby commented on October 11, 2016 at 11:38 am

      unless it says on the front that its vegan, quorn is not vegan, almost all of their stuff contains egg whites. They are going vegan however, but they have not said when!

Post a Comment

 

By submitting this form, you will be indicating your consent to receiving e-mail marketing messages from us unless you have indicated an objection to receiving such messages by unticking the box above. You're also acknowledging that you've read and you agree to our privacy policy.