Cheers! Draught Guinness Worldwide Is Now Suitable for Vegans

Posted by on April 28, 2017 | Permalink

Stout-lovers can raise a glass to the fact that draught Guinness around the world is now vegan!

After noting the demand for drinks that are suitable for vegans, Guinness set about improving its filtration system to remove isinglass – a substance made from fish bladders that’s sometimes used to filter beer and other alcoholic beverages. And the company has just announced the good news that vegans can now enjoy a cruelty-free draught Guinness:

The first stage of the roll out of the new filtration system concentrated on Guinness Draught in kegs. The brewery is delighted to confirm that this phase of the project is complete and all Guinness Draught produced in keg format at St. James’s Gate Brewery and served in pubs, bars and restaurants around the world, is brewed without using isinglass to filter the beer.

The company has also announced that later this year, all Guinness – whether it’s from a keg, bottle, or can – will be vegan. As the popularity of plant-based diets continues to grow, brands are taking note and making big changes that help make following a compassionate lifestyle easier than ever before.